String Lunch Club

Monday 12:45 pm (Note new day starting 10/16/2000

Center for Theoretical Physics, Building 6, Third Floor Seminar Room, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Schedule of Talks

Tuesday, September 12, 2000 at 12:45PM
Discrete Torsion
Bo Feng
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tuesday, September 26, 2000 at 12:45PM
Will talk about: Elitzur, Pioline, Rabinovici

``On the Short-distance Structure of Irrational Non-commutative Gauge Theories"

Zack Guralnik
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tuesday, October 3, 2000 at 12:45PM
Holographic High-energy Scattering in AdS
Sebastian deHaro
Utrecht University-Netherlands

Tuesday, October 10, 2000 at 12:45PM
D-branes and K-theory
Yang-Hui He
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, October 16, 2000 at 12:45PM
Supergravity and a Confining Gauge Theory-I. Klebanov and M. Strassler(hep-th/0007191)
Johanna Erdmenger
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, October 23, 2000 at 12:45PM
Unstable Solitons in Non-commutative Gauge Theory
(hep-th/009142)
Jan Troost
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Tuesday, October 24, 2000 at 2:00PM
Warped Compactifications on Calabi-Yau Four-Folds
Sergei Gukov
--Cal Tech

Monday, October 30, 2000 at 12:45PM
K-theory and Type I String Theory

Gaetano Bertoldi
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, November 6, 2000 at 12:45PM
How Bob Laughlin Tamed the Giant Graviton from Taub-NUT space
(Authors: Bernevig, Brodie, Susskind and Toumbas-hep-th/0010105
Andreas Karch
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, November 13, 2000 at 12:45PM
TBA

Emanuel Katz
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, November 27, 2000 at 12:45PM

The Hurwitz Enumeration Problem f Branched Covers and Hodge Integrals

Jun Song
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, December 4, 2000 at 12:45PM
A review of background Independent Open-string Field Theory and its applications to Tachyon Condensation

Ian Elwood
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, December 11, 2000 at 12:45PM

Holography in Randall-Sundrum scenarios
Manolo Perez-Victoria
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Monday, December 18, 2000 at 12:45PM
Light-like (2-0) Noncommutativity and Light-Cone rigid Open Membrane Theory

Nikolaos Prezas
Massachusetts Institute of Technology