`` ``

 

String/Gravity Theory Seminar Spring 2013

Wednesday, 3:00PM (Note new time)

MIT Center for Theoretical Physics, Cosman Seminar room 6C-442

Organizers: Allan Adams and Barton Zwiebach

Wednesday, February 6

Daniel Harlow, Princeton

``Quantum Computation vs. Firewalls"

 

Wednesday, February 13

Miguel Paulos, Brown

``External Bootstrapping"

 

Wednesday, February 20

no seminar held

 

Wednesday, February 27

Blaise Gouteraux, Norditka

``Zero-temperature holographic phases with (un)broken U(1) symmetry"

 

Wednesday, March 6

Simeon Hellerman, Kavli IPMU

``Chern-Simons-Matter Theory And Its Holographic Dual"

 

Thursday, March 7 Joint Harvard seminar held at Harvard

Dieter Luest, Max Planck, Munich
"Closed strings and non-commutative/non-associative geometry"

 

Wednesday, March 13

Koji Hashimoto, Osaka University

``A Landscape of Boundary String Field Theory"

Wednesday, March 20

Stephane Detournay, Harvard

"Holographic Adventures in Flat Space"

 

Wednesday, March 27 no seminar Spring break

Wednesday, April 3

David Skinner, IAS

``Twistor Strings for N=8 Supergravity"


Wednesday, April 10

Nima Arkani-Hamed, IAS

``Locality and Unitarity from Positivity"

Wednesday, April 17

Dam T. Son, University of Chicago

"Newton-Cartan geometry and the quantum Hall effect".

Wednesday, April 24 Joint Harvard/MIT seminar held at MIT

Shamit Kachru, Stanford CANCELLED DUE TO FAMILY EMERGENCY

``Some very simple extensions of Mathieu moonshine"

Wednesday, May 1

Horacio Casini, Centro Ato Mico Bariloche

"Physical entanglement entropy: relative entropy and mutual information"

Wednesday,May 8

Emanuel Katz, Boston University

"A New Theory of Anyons"